Tags

, , , ,

Maidenhair Fern

Maidenhair Fern

Its difficult to know where to start but I’ve always been interested in ferns and as there seems to be a lot fewer species than flowering plants I somehow hope they might be a bit easier  to identify. So I am starting literally at home, in this case just outside my front door where there is a single plant of Maidenhair Spleenwort growing out of the front garden wall. This is a common fern found not only throughout Britain but the World.

Maidenhair Spleenwort (Asplenium trichomanes) is commonly found growing in older mortared walls along with Wall Rue (Asplenium ruta-muraria).

‘Throughout much of Britain and Ireland, the usual form of Asplenium trichomanes to be found in these habitats is its subspecies quadrivalens…’ (Page, p 142).

So straight away its not quite so simple, I presume my fern is ssp quadrivalens but I suppose I should really find out!

Page, Christopher N. 1988 Ferns, Their habitats in the British and Irish Landscape, The New Naturalist. Collins

